Hall of Fame Luncheon

This annual luncheon began with young soloist Mehana Oriana Muranaka singing “Hawaii Pono’i” and the National Anthem. Livingston then took the opportunity to present two $2,000 scholarships sponsored by AT&T, awards typically presented at the Honolulu Council’s annual dinner.

Angelica Tran could not make the trip from the island of Kauai, so Jane Ferreira, head of the council’s Scholarship Committee, accepted the oversized check on her behalf. Robert Figgs, of Honolulu, then joined Livingston onstage to receive his scholarship check.

Inducted by Dunmire into the Navy League Hall of Fame for 2012 was Jeanne Sharkey, who was honored for 33 years of Navy League service.

“She has played an invaluable role in the execution of key Navy League events, where she has been a major leader and doer for almost every major event in the Pacific Central Region for more than 20 years,” her citation reads. “Jeanne has served in leadership positions ranging from national director to council president, and just about everything in between. Having served on the San Francisco Fleet Week Committee for 10 years, her efforts helped expose countless Americans to the missions of our sea services.

“Serving on the Commissioning Committees of the USS Campbell, USCGC Bertholf and USCGC Waesche, Jeanne has helped ensure all details were considered, resulting in seamless commissioning ceremonies. Assisting weak councils, her hard work was a major factor in their retention. … Any region would be fortunate to have a person such as Jeanne Sharkey on their leadership team.





Jeanne Sharkey was inducted into the Navy League Hall of Fame June 21 by National President Philip L. Dunmire in honor of her 33 years of Navy League service.